Agricultural Bank of China

    Agricultural Bank of China (ABC) history, company profile (overview) and history video

       Agricultural Bank of China (ABC), also known as AgBank, is a banking and financial services company headquartered in Beijing, China.


       The predecessor of the ABC is Agricultural Cooperative Bank, established in 1951 through the merger of two banks of the Republic of China, Farmers Bank of China and Cooperation Bank. However, the bank was merged into the People’s Bank of China, the central bank in 1952.

       The first bank bearing the name Agricultural Bank of China was founded in 1955, but it was merged into the central bank in 1957.

       In 1963 the Chinese government formed another agricultural bank, and it was also merged into the central bank two years later.

       Since the late 1970s, the Bank has evolved from a state-owned specialized bank to a wholly state-owned commercial bank and subsequently a state-controlled commercial bank.

       Today’s Agricultural Bank of China was founded in February 1979.

       In 2009, the Bank was restructured into a joint stock limited liability company

       In 2010, the company was listed on the Shanghai and Hong Kong stock exchanges.


    • Finance and insurance;
    • Consumer banking;
    • Corporate banking;
    • Investment banking;
    • Investment management;
    • Global wealth management;
    • Private equity;
    • Mortgages;
    • Credit cards.

       With more than 250,000 employees and more than 20,000 branches, Agricultural Bank of China (ABC) is considered one of the largest banks in China. According to Forbes, it is considered one of the Largest Public Companies in the World.

    *Information from,, and

    - Advertisement -

    **Video published on YouTube by “BrandZChina2012



    Related videos